Day 6: Professional Reading

I love reading professional books- they just really motivate me. I can read most professional books in a night (which drives my teacher friends crazy). I’m currently reading 17,000 Classroom Visits Can’t Be Wrong by John V. Antonetti & James R Garver. I am really enjoying this book because it focuses on what our lessons (or teaching) looks like from the other side of the desk. I am learning to shift the focus from my teaching to my students’ learning.

A few key points from Antonetti & Garver that really resonated with me were…

  • Learning tasks should be designed to guarantee a predetermined level of thinking.
  • Learning is not the same for students even if the activity is.
  • Level of difficulty and cognitive demand are not interchangeable.
  • Personalize the objective for students and then they can articulate (1) what they are doing, (2) what they are learning, (3) why they are learning, and (4) what success looks like.
  • Three high quality work predictors  are (1) autonomy, (2) mastery, and (3) purpose
  • The thinking level of the student plays a critical role in the level of engagement.

I am only on page 80 and the authors have referenced so many great thinkers/teachers/researchers (i.e. Dan Meyers, Webb Depth’s of Knowledge, Bloom’s Taxonomy, Brain Rules by John Medina, Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, Daniel Pink, Ruby Payne, Howard Gardner’s MIs, Phillip Schlechty’s Levels of Engagement, etc.).

If you want to learn about engaging students, promoting active learning, and boosting achievement… this book is for you!

2 thoughts on “Day 6: Professional Reading

  1. Personalize the objective for students and then they can articulate (1) what they are doing, (2) what they are learning, (3) why they are learning, and (4) what success looks like.

    I love this note. I think that this is so important for our students. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

